## **Judicial Merit Selection Commission**

Rep. Micajah P. "Micah" Caskey, IV, Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Scott Talley Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Wallace H. "Jay" Jordan, Jr. Hope Blackley Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Patrick Dennis, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

## MEDIA RELEASE

July 14, 2023

The Public Hearings for the Judicial Merit Selection Commission have been scheduled to begin Monday, November 6, 2023, with the hearings commencing at 9:00 a.m. regarding the qualifications of the following candidates for judicial positions:

<u>Supreme Court</u> Chief Justice	The Honorable John W. Kittredge, Greenville, SC
<u>Court of Appeals</u> Seat 8	The Honorable Jerry Deese Vinson, Jr., Florence, SC
Seat 9	Whitney B. Harrison, Columbia, SC The Honorable Jan B. Bromell Holmes, Georgetown, SC Grayson Lambert, Columbia, SC Jason P. Luther, Columbia, SC The Honorable Matthew Price Turner, Laurens, SC
<u>Circuit Court</u> 3 <sup>rd</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	Eleazer R. Carter, Manning, SC The Honorable S. Bryan Doby, Bishopville, SC Christopher R. DuRant, Gable, SC Samuel Floyd, Kingstree, SC W. T. Geddings, Jr., Manning, SC
3 <sup>rd</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Kristi Fisher Curtis, Sumter, SC
4 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Michael S. Holt, Hartsville, SC
5 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	James Smith, Columbia, SC Justin T. Williams, Columbia, SC

5 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Daniel McLeod Coble, Columbia, SC
7 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	J. Derham Cole, Jr., Spartanburg, SC
7 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Grace Gilchrist Knie, Campobello, SC
8 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Eugene Cannon Griffith, Jr., Prosperity, SC
9 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	Brent S. Halversen, Mt. Pleasant, SC The Honorable Bentley Douglas Price, Charleston, SC
10 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable R. Scott Sprouse, Walhalla, SC
11 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable William Paul Keesley, Edgefield, SC
11 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Walton J. McLeod, IV, Columbia, SC
12 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Michael G. Nettles, Florence, SC
13 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Jessica Ann Salvini, Greenville, SC Melanie McCulley Yenovkian, Greenville, SC
13 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	Vernon F. Dunbar, Greenville, SC Ken Gibson, Greenville, SC Will Grove, Greenville, SC The Honorable Isaac "Ike" Johnson, Simpsonville, SC Zandra Johnson Scott, Greenville, SC
14 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Robert Bonds, Walterboro, SC
At-Large, Seat 4	Daniel J. Ballou, Rock Hill, SC William C. McMaster, III, Greenville, SC
At-Large, Seat 8	<ul> <li>Kimberly V. Barr, Florence, SC</li> <li>Maryann Blake, Walterboro, SC</li> <li>The Honorable Russell A. Blanchard, IV, Orangeburg, SC</li> <li>P. John Freeman, Fort Mill, SC</li> <li>T. William "Billy" McGee, III, Columbia, SC</li> <li>Ashley A. McMahan, Columbia, SC</li> <li>William Vickery Meetze, Marion, SC</li> <li>R. Bruce Wallace, Mt. Pleasant, SC</li> </ul>
At-Large, Seat 11	<b>R. Allyce Bailey,</b> Columbia, SC Joseph Bias, Lexington, SC The Honorable Russell D. Hilton, Ridgeville, SC

	The Honorable Milton G. Kimpson, Columbia, SC April W. Sampson, Irmo, SC
At-Large, Seat 16	Sanford Cox Graves, Garden City Beach, SC Riley Maxwell, Columbia, SC Charles J. McCutchen, Orangeburg, SC Jane H. Merrill, Greenwood, SC Dale Scott, Columbia, SC Christian G. Spradley, Batesburg-Leesville, SC S. Boyd Young, Columbia, SC
<u>Family Court</u> 9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	Blakely Copeland Cahoon, Blythewood, SC Anthony Philip LaMantia, III, Charleston, SC Paul F. LeBarron, Ladson, SC
9 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 6	Natasha D. Chisolm, Charleston, SC Gina J. McAlhany, Summerville, SC
10 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	David J. Brousseau, Anderson, SC Andrew Potter, Anderson, SC Heather Vry Scalzo, Greenville, SC
16 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	Sammy Diamaduros, Union, SC
<u>Administrative Law Court</u> Seat 1	The Honorable Ralph K. Anderson, III, Columbia, SC
<u>Master-in-Equity</u> Florence County	<b>The Honorable Haigh Porter,</b> Florence, SC <b>Coit Yarborough,</b> Timmonsville, SC
<u>Retired</u> Supreme Court	The Honorable Jean Hoefer Toal, Columbia, SC

Persons desiring to testify at public hearings shall furnish written notarized statements of proposed testimony, in accordance with the Procedural Rules of the Judicial Merit Selection Commission. These statements must be received by **Noon, Monday, October 23, 2023**. The Commission has witness affidavit forms that may be used for proposed testimony. While this form is not mandatory, it will be supplied on request. Statements should be mailed or delivered to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel 104 Gressette Building Post Office Box 142

## Columbia, SC 29202

All testimony, including documents furnished to the Commission, must be submitted under oath. Persons knowingly giving false information, either orally or in writing, shall be subject to penalty.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, the website is available at: https://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php

Questions concerning the hearing and procedures should be directed to the Commission at (803) 212-6623.